Genesis: Historical research
12+
Journal Menu
> Issues > Rubrics > About journal > Authors > About the Journal > Requirements for publication > Editorial collegium > The editors and editorial board > Peer-review process > Policy of publication. Aims & Scope. > Article retraction > Ethics > Online First Pre-Publication > Copyright & Licensing Policy > Digital archiving policy > Open Access Policy > Open access publishing costs > Article Identification Policy > Plagiarism check policy
Journals in science databases
About the Journal

MAIN PAGE > Back to contents
Publications of Osipov Sergey
Culture and Art, 2021-5
Osipov S. - Playing with stereotypes: Russia and the Russians in the animated TV series The Simpsons (1989-2020) pp. 76-100

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0625.2021.5.33404

Abstract: The subject of this research is the image of the USSR/Russia resembles in the popular animated TV series “The Simpsons” throughout the past 30 years, considering the method of translating information inserted in the media text, as well as the complexity/simplicity of decoding this information by the viewer, ambiguity/unambiguity of interpretations, etc. The TB series touched upon the following topics related to the USSR/Russia: immigration to the United States and life of the immigrants in the new homeland, the Cold War, Communism and anti-Communism, Russian culture, Russia as a rival of the United States. The author traces the dynamics, diversity, and specificity of covering Soviet/Russian theme for over 30 years in the context of the dynamics of relations between the Soviet Union/Russia and the West, including political, social, cultural, and other nuances. The author carries out a cross-disciplinary dedicated to the work of popular culture in the context of political history of the XX – early XX centuries. The novelty consists in revealing the main themes of the “Russian presence” in the TV series (based on the analysis of almost 700 episodes), and the way they are conveyed (leveling the established stereotypes or their debunking for the sake of countering manipulations with public sentiment). Impugning the statement that ideology of “The Simpsons” is purely neoliberal, the author draws a more complex and critical worldview of “The Simpsons” in with regards to American society. Russia holds a special place in this world due to complicated bilateral relations since the Cold War, which consequences are yet to be fully overcome. An ineradicable remnant of the Cold War is the link between Russia and Communism, in which “Communism” is a synonym of any dissenting view. Russia is also associated with a rich, although highbrow culture, unattractive to most of the ordinary citizens. The main satirical idea of “The Simpsons” is to emphasize the cultural dissonance, which intensifies the difficulties of mutual understanding based on political confrontation and remaining ideological prejudices.
History magazine - researches, 2019-2
Osipov S., Vyazmitinov M., Kamalova R. - Organizational and Technical Problems in the Formation of the White Guard Award System pp. 51-61

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0609.2019.2.28672

Abstract: The research subject of this article is the issues behind the organization and technical provisions of the award institutions of various White Guard armies during the Civil War in Russia. The authors analyze the problems of administrative, production-technical and personnel nature that appeared during the development and production of award groups belonging to various White Guard formations and governments. Additionally, the approaches and possibilities of "whites" and "reds" in forming award systems are compared. The authors examine the supply channels of White Guard units and divisions of award insignia and raw materials for their production, and distinguish the specific features of the White Guard award system. The article is based on the principles of historicism, objectivity, systematics, and the methodological basis of this research is the historical-genetic method. The multilateral analysis of the many disparate objects (awards) allowed the authors to draw general conclusions about the specific problems and particularities in the White Guard award system and to highlight the elements of continuity and novelty in this system. The novelty of this study lies in the abandonment of the traditional individual-descriptive approach to award systems and the identification of common issues and approaches in White Guard governments regarding their award systems, with the emphasis being placed on organizational and production-technical difficulties. The authors point to various means of organizing the production of awards (pre-revolutionary reserves, centralized command orders, personal initiatives of unit commanders, placing orders abroad, etc.) and sources of raw materials (melting tsarist awards, confiscations of jeweler and church goods, gold reserves, etc.). The common problems of various White Movement branches were reflected in their award system: lack of a unified system, limited raw materials and production capabilities, drop in quality. It was precisely their attempts to create an award system with a limited set of resources that made the White Guard award system a unique phenomenon.
History magazine - researches, 2019-1
Osipov S. - The Formation of Historical Memory: the Figure of King George VI in Anglo-American Cinema and Television pp. 187-205

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0609.2019.1.28122

Abstract: The article's research subject is the formation of historical memory through mass media culture on the example of a specific figure: the British King George VI, whose image was practically reinvented in the last 10 years and revealed to the public after decades of obscurity and one-sided approaches. The research material for this study includes more than 10 television and film sources produced in the last 40 years which portray King George VI, and which are mainly contextual or hermeneutical biographies of George himself or of historical figures close to him. The author's research method is the analysis and socio-cultural interpretation of the collection of film and television productions with the figure of George VI with the aim of identifying the dynamics and features behind the formation of a historical character's figure in popular culture and historical memory. The author comes to the conclusion that over the past ten years, Anglo-American cinema and television have re-created the image of King George VI to become a recognizable historical person, firmly tied to the most important historical events and personalities of the 20th century and possessing a whole range of remarkable qualities. George VI was re-introduced as a positive and active figure in British history in its entirety, which was previously present only on the pages of focused studies about the king, but not in popular culture. The established consensus among professional scholars concerning the figure of George VI was successfully transferred to the sphere of mass culture, and this had a significant influence on the formation of the historical memory about the late king.
Genesis: Historical research, 2018-7
Osipov S., Vyazmitinov M., Kamalova R. - Honors and rewards in the education system of Imperial Russia (the late XVIII the early XX centuries) pp. 96-105

DOI:
10.25136/2409-868X.2018.7.26465

Abstract: The object of this research is the reward signs bestowed upon the students of secondary and higher education for academic achievements and behavior in prerevolutionary Russia (the late XVIII – the early XX centuries); stages of the establishment of reward system; marks of distinction, etc. The author underlines the versatility of educational rewards, their tangible values, as well as the value in case of employment. The authors review the mechanism of ensuring credibility of such rewards, as well as describes the particular marks of distinctions of the various higher education facilities (medals, rings, tokens, etc.). Based on analysis of the collected data with the use of historical-hermeneutic methodology, the work defines the origins, peculiarities and development stages of the rewards system. Determines its levels, and underlines the moral and material aspects. The authors systematize the records on the rewards of secondary and higher schools of Imperial Russia, turning attention to the holistic character of many of the marks of distinction (moral rewards, tangible rewards, sign of corporate solidarity). A conclusion is made on the merits of prerevolutionary rewards system due to the presence of tangible component, and advantages in recruiting for government service, etc.
Culture and Art, 2018-6
Osipov S. - Changing Russia and Changing Bondiana: the Country and People in the Eye of Media Franchise (1962 - 2015) pp. 25-54

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0625.2018.6.26463

Abstract: The subject of the research is the changing image of the USSR / Russia as it has been reflected by the popular media franchise about James Bond during the period since 1962 till 2015. In his research Osipov traces back the intensity, viability and particularities of using Soviet / Russian themes over 50 years in terms of developing relations between the USSR / Russia and the West including political, social, cultural and other features. Osipov describes different periods of mentioning the Soviet Union / Russia in the movies about James Bond, with a different degree of the depth and criticism of the USSR / Russia image. This interdisciplinary research is devoted to the analysis of the global cultural phenomenon in terms of the political history of the second half of the 20th - beginning of the 21st century. The research is based on the initiative of Russian government to use the 'soft power' that uses quite a limited number of formats. The author pays attention to the success of the multimedia franchise format used by the Western pop culture. Bondiana is viewed as an example of a successful franchise with the political message. By analysing the image of the USSR / Russia in the movies about James Bond, the author of the article has managed to describe the mechanisms of the successful franchise and what image it offered. The author has also assessed the degree of its stereotype/originality. The author concludes that despite the opinion of Soviet film criticism, Bondiana did not create a negative image but was more included to a neutral or even positive image of the USSR. The negative image of Russia of the 90s was objectively founded. Then the image of Russia was replaced with the image of the world terrorism. The interest in Soviet / Russian themes falls on the second hlf of the 70s - mid 80s and mid 90s which was directly related to the political processes ongoing in the world back in those times. 
Other our sites:
Official Website of NOTA BENE / Aurora Group s.r.o.
"History Illustrated" Website

по
Genesis: исторические исследования
12+
Меню журнала
> Архив номеров > Рубрики > О журнале > Авторы > О журнале > Требования к статьям > Редакционный совет > Редакция и редакционная коллегия > Порядок рецензирования статей > Политика издания > Ретракция статей > Этические принципы > Политика открытого доступа > Оплата за публикации в открытом доступе > Online First Pre-Publication > Политика авторских прав и лицензий > Политика цифрового хранения публикации > Политика идентификации статей > Политика проверки на плагиат
Журналы индексируются
Реквизиты журнала

ГЛАВНАЯ > Вернуться к содержанию
Статьи автора Осипов Сергей Викторович
Культура и искусство, 2021-5
Осипов С.В. - Играя со стереотипами: Россия и русские в анимационном сериале «Симпсоны» (1989-2020 гг.) c. 76-100

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0625.2021.5.33404

Аннотация: Предметом исследования является образ СССР/России в отражении популярного анимационного телесериала "Симпсоны" на протяжении последних 30 лет, учитывая как способ подачи заложенной в медиатексте информации, так и сложность/простоту декодирования этой информации зрителем, многозначность/однозначность трактовок и т.д. Выделяются следующие связанные с СССР/Россией темы: иммиграция в США и жизнь иммигрантов на новой родине, холодная война, коммунизм и антикоммунизм, русская культура, Россия как соперник Соединенных Штатов. Отслеживаются динамика, разнообразие и специфика использования советской/российской тематики на протяжении 30 с лишним лет в контексте динамики отношений СССР/России и Запада, включая политические, социальные, культурные и пр. нюансы. Междисциплинарное исследование, рассматривающее произведение массовой культуры в контексте политической истории конца XX - начала XXI вв. Новизна исследования заключается как в выявлении основых тем "русского присутствия" в сериале (на основании анализа почти 700 телевизионных эпизодов), так и в определении способов подачи этих тем (нивелирование устоявшихся стереотипов или же разоблачение их прямым текстом ради противодействия манипуляциям с общественными настроениями). Оспаривая утверждение об идеологии "Симпсонов" как о чисто неолиберальной, автор указывает на более сложную и критичную по отношению к американскому обществу картину мира "Симпсонов". Россия занимает в этом мире особое место в силу сложных двусторонних отношений со времен холодной войны, чье наследие так до конца и не преодолено. Неискоренимым рудиментом холодной войны является ассоциация России с коммунизмом, причем «коммунизм» становится синонимом любого инакомыслия. Россия также ассоциируется с богатой культурой, но культурой highbrow, малоинтересной большинству обычных граждан. Культурное несовпадение лишь усиливает общие сложности взаимопонимания, основанные на политическом противостоянии и неизжитых идейных предрассудках, против которых и направлен основной сатрический запал "Симпсонов".
Исторический журнал: научные исследования, 2019-2
Осипов С.В., Вязьмитинов М.Н., Камалова Р.Ш. - Организационные и технические проблемы становления белогвардейской наградной системы c. 51-61

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0609.2019.2.28672

Аннотация: Предметом исследования являются вопросы организационно-технического обеспечения функционирования наградных институтов различных белогвардейских армий периода Гражданской войны в России. Анализируются проблемы административного, производственно-технического и кадрового характера, проявившиеся при разработке и производстве групп наград различных белогвардейских формирований и правительств. Сравниваются подходы и возможности белых и красных в формировании наградных систем. Освещаются каналы обеспечения белогвардейских частей и подразделений наградными знаками и сырьем для их изготовления. Выделяются специфические особенности белогвардейской наградной системы Работа основана на принципах историзма, объективности, системности, методологической базой исследования выступает историко-генетический метод. Многосторонний анализ множества разрозненных объектов (наград) позволяет сделать обобщающие выводы касательно специфических проблем и особенностей белогвардейской наградной системы и указать на элементы преемственности и новизны в данной системе. Новизна исследования заключается в отказе от традиционного индивидуально-описательного подхода к наградам и выявлении общих проблем и подходов белогвардейских правительств относительно наградной системы, причем упор сделан на организационные и производственно-технические сложности. Авторы указывают на различные способы организации производства наград (дореволюционные запасы, централизованные заказы командования, личные инициативы командиров подразделений,размещение заказов за границей и т.д.), источники сырья (переплавка царских наград, конфискации у ювелиров и церкви, золотой запас и т.д.). Общие проблемы Белого движения отразились и в наградной системе: отсутствие единой системы, ограниченные сырьевые и производственные возможности, падение качества. Именно попытки ограниченным набором средств создать наградную систему и сделали белогвардейскую наградную систему уникальным явлением.
Исторический журнал: научные исследования, 2019-1
Осипов С.В. - Формирование исторической памяти: образ короля Георга VI в англо-американском кино и телевидении c. 187-205

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0609.2019.1.28122

Аннотация: Предметом исследования является формирование исторической памяти средствами массовой культуры на примере конкретной личности - британского короля Георга VI, чей образ был фактически заново сформирован в последние 10 лет и явлен публике после десятилетий забвения/однобокого подхода. Материалом для исследования стали более 10 теле- и киновоплощений короля Георга VI, представляющие собой преимущественно контекстуальные или герменевтические биографии самого Георга или близких к нему исторических персон, произведенные в последние 40 лет. Методом исследования является анализ и социально-культурная интерпретация серии кино- и телеобращений к образу Георга VI c целью выявления динамики и особенностей формирования образа исторического персонажа в массовой культуре и исторической памяти. Автор приходит к выводу, что за последние десять лет англо-американское кино и телевидение заново сформировали образ короля Георга VI в качестве узнаваемой исторической персоны, прочно привязанной к важнейшим историческим событиям и личностям XX века и обладающей целым набором замечательных качеств. Георг VI был заново представлен как положительный и активный персонаж британской истории в той полноте, которая ранее присутствовала на страницах специальных исследований о короле, но не в массовой культуре. Сложившийся в среде профессиональных историков консенсус касательно фигуры Георга VI был успешно перенесен в сферу массовой культуры, и та оказала существенное влияние на формирование исторической памяти о покойном короле.
Genesis: исторические исследования, 2018-7
Осипов С.В., Вязьмитинов М.Н., Камалова Р.Ш. - Награды и поощрения учащимся в системе образования императорской России (вторая половина XVIII – начало XX вв.) c. 96-105

DOI:
10.25136/2409-868X.2018.7.26465

Аннотация: Объектом исследования являются наградные знаки, которыми награждались за успехи в учебе и поведении учащиеся системы среднего и высшего образования в дореволюционной России (конец 18-начало 20 вв.), этапы становления наградной системы, конкретные знаки отличия и т. д. Отмечается многофункциональность образовательных наград, их значительная материальная ценность равно как и ценность при трудоустройстве. Рассматриваются механизмы обеспечения престижности данных наград. Приводятся описания конкретных наградных знаков различных высших учебных заведений (медали, перстни, жетоны, шифры). На основе анализа собранного массива данных с помощью историко-генетической методологии определяются истоки, особенности и этапы развития наградной системы, выделяются её уровни, указывается на моральный и материальный аспекты. Авторы систематизируют сведения о наградах средней и высшей школы царской России, обращая внимание на комплексный характер многих знаков отличия (моральное поощрение, материальное поощрение, знак корпоративной солидарности). Выделяются четыре уровня наград: первый (золотые и серебряные медали и золотые шифры ), второй - Высочайше пожалованные медали для выпускников отдельных учебных заведений и специальных училищ, третий (грамоты, наградные листы, книги н за успехи в учёбе в течение обучения в конце четверти, полугодия или учебного года),четвёртый – памятные подарки (золотые и серебряные выпускные жетоны, золотые перстни). Делаются выводы о преимуществах дореволюционной наградной системы в плане наличия материальной составляющей, преимуществ при приеме на государственную службу и т.д.
Культура и искусство, 2018-6
Осипов С.В. - Меняющаяся Россия и меняющаяся бондиана: страна и люди в зеркале медийной франшизы (1962-2015 гг.) c. 25-54

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0625.2018.6.26463

Аннотация: Предметом исследования является меняющийся образ СССР/России в отражении популярной медийной франшизы о Джеймсе Бонде в период с 1962 по 2015 гг. Отслеживаются насыщенность, целесообразность и особенности использования советской/российской тематики на протяжении 50 с лишним лет в контексте динамики отношений СССР/России и Запада, включая политические, социальные, культурные и пр. компоненты. Выделяются разные периоды обращения бондианы к советской/российской тематике с разной степенью глубины и критичности отражения СССР/России. Междисциплинарное исследование, рассматривающее произведение массовой культуры в контексте политической истории второй половины 20 - начала 21 вв. Исследование отталкивается от инициатив российских властей по применению "мягкой силы", которые, как представляется, используют слишком узкий набор форматов. Автор обращает внимание на успешность формата мультимедийной франшизы, практикуемого западной массовой культурой. Бондиана берется как пример успешной франшизы с политическим подтекстом. Изучение обращений бондианы к образу СССР/России помогает понять механизмы успеха франшизы и что именно за образ она формирует; оценивает ее стереотипность/оригинальность. Автор заключает, что, вопреки мнению советской кинокритики, бондиана не несла в себе образа врага и тяготела к нейтрально-положительному образу СССР. Негативный образ России 90-ых гг. объективно обоснован, в дальнейшем российский компонент уходит из бондианы в связи со смещением фобий Запада в сторону мирового терроризма. Пиками интереса к советской/российской тематике были 2-я пол. 70 - сер. 80-ых гг. и сер. 90-ых гг., что имело четкую взаимосвязь с политическими процессами в реальном мире.
Другие сайты издательства:
Официальный сайт издательства NotaBene / Aurora Group s.r.o.
Сайт исторического журнала "History Illustrated"