по
World Politics
18+
Journal Menu
> Issues > Rubrics > About journal > Authors > Requirements for publication > Editorial collegium > List of peer reviewers > Review procedure > Policy of publication. Aims & Scope. > Article retraction > Ethics > Legal information > Editorial board
Journals in science databases
About the Journal

MAIN PAGE > Journal "World Politics" > Rubric "Theory and methodology of international relations"
Theory and methodology of international relations
Vladimirova A.V. - Asian and African Countries in the United Nations: Soft Power Analysis pp. 1-13

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8671.2016.3.19555

Abstract: The Soft power theory is popular among scholars and politicians, however, the nature of this phenomenon can complicate its evaluation, especially in the research, based on quantitative methods. At present, we are facing a trend of rising violence in the world, and soft power indexes, created by consulting agencies, are not enough. They are important indeed, partially because these reports remind us of the alternatives to coercion. But their authors often put emphasis on the states possessing significant political power resources. Probably, it leads to the misperception that countries, which din't have significant hard power resources, are unable to accumulate enough soft power to implement it as a foreign policy tool.The aim of this paper is to demonstrate that this assumption is not always correct. We use the linear regression model to show that Asian and African countries can use soft power in the United Nations even if their hard power is small. The research contains the information on the resolutions of the General Assembly of the United Nations and 124 countries-submitters and co-submitters of resolution drafts in 2001-2015. As we fully admit that soft power indexes are difficult to create and apply, this paper also covers soft power limits and critique.
Borodin E.A. - Reasonable approach to global politics. pp. 20-46

DOI:
10.7256/2306-4226.2015.1.12668

Abstract: This article is devoted to the studies of the role of reason in the modern political processes, global politics and foreign policies of the nation-states. The article attempts to clarify the basic terms regarding the term "reason", showing how the factor of reason is comprehended by the parties to the political relations and political process. It is established that reason is a complicated structure, and it may manifest itself at individual, collective, and distributed levels in political and social activities of a person.  The appearance of the network structures in the modern society forms new network type of reason, which influences the reasonability criteria and evaluation of reasonability of certain political strategies and courses. As a result it becomes clear that speaking of reasonable policy, we often mean different bases and criteria for being reasonable. Moreover, different cultures have their own ideas of reason and being reasonable in political activities based upon their own traditions and values. At the same time the noosphere teaching of V.I. Vernadskiy allows to synthesize various approaches to reason and its role in politics within a single paradigm, which is brought together by the modern ideology of noovitism.
Shitova E.N. - “Democracies with adjectives” in the discourse of political science: the place of Latin America and the post-Soviet space on the theoretical world map pp. 45-63

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8671.2015.2.12626

Abstract: Nowadays an essential gap between formal democratic institutions and cultural, historical, and value traditions historically peculiar to certain countries/societies can be observed. The phenomenon of democracies conforming to the formal, procedural attributes, but giving rise to doubt in their democratic essence, produced new concepts describing the existing changes which are generally called “democracies with adjectives”. At present this discourse covers more than 60 countries, and the most extensive discussion takes place around the countries of Latin America. The author uses the system, structural-functional and comparative-political approaches, the methods of induction, deduction, analysis, synthesis, observation, modeling, and expert assessments. The article explains the concept of “democracies with adjectives”, describes the problem field of this concept, and the main phases of its establishment, outlines the problem spheres influenced by the democracy discourse, shows the countries involved in this discourse and the strategies of the authors of the concept. 
Grachikov E.N. - "Chinese School" of International Relations: the Right to Methodological Identity pp. 47-65

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8671.2017.1.21534

Abstract: In the English-speaking segment of the global academic environment, the concept of the «Chinese School» is known also as the English School. Despite its young age and initially claimed position to follow the Western methodology and big theories, adherence to which has been daily confirmed by Chinese scholars in their articles, monographs and doctoral dissertations, the "Chinese School" from the very beginning of its existence proclaimed the main principle (not yet paradigm) - it will be based on Chinese culture and Chinese history, which should be included in the global international research on a par with Western culture and history.The article deals with the evolution of Chinese thought as a part of the international global context, which has passed its own "big" debates and entered into controversy with influential Western scholars for their right to methodological consciousness. Using quantitative and qualitative methods, the author gives a general picture of the current state of international research in China, analyzes the complex process of development of the various "approaches", which now make up the concept, but not a single "Chinese school". The article concludes that Chinese scholars are becoming an integral part of the global academic environment, while reproducing the dominance of Western theories of international relations, and even its "innovations" are considered in the context of Western research paradigms.
Pashkovsky P.I. - On particular directions of the cultural and psychological methodology of international political studies pp. 53-59

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8671.2017.2.22984

Abstract: The research object is the peculiarities of directions of the cultural and psychological methodology of international political studies. The author notes that the Russian political science hasn’t given appropriate attention to these directions until recently. The author describes the specialists’ approaches and considers the following directions of the cultural and psychological methodology of international political studies: the person-centered approach, the study of the influence of public opinion, the study of impact of personal and corporate interests, irrational manifestations and other psychological factors, an “operational code”; the “historical experience of generations” concept; the mental approach. The research methodology is based on the system approach. The author uses the historical-genetic, socio-psychological and comparative methods. The author proves that the cultural and psychological methodology of international political studies is aimed at the penetration into the “human dimension” of the world politics and international relations, into the mental sphere of a society, a group and a person in order to detect the determinants and prerequisites of particular decisions and actions in the mentioned sphere and to make more realistic forecasts. 
Rep'eva A.M. - Nation-building. Formation and substantial characteristics (the USA and Russia). pp. 68-79

DOI:
10.7256/2306-4226.2013.2.8795

Abstract: The Russian state was historically formed as a poly-ethnical state throughout the centuries. That is why the problem of forming a united civil self-conscience has always been topical. The nation formation process is a complicated and contradictory matter, since in touches upon national identity of citizens due to which the state has to choose the principle for the nation formation. Among the basic principles one may single out the following: nation formation based on multi-cultural policy, based upon civil nation, or based upon a dominating ethnic group within the state, which is capable of uniting other ethnic groups around itself. Most of European and American states face the problem of nation formation, and this problem is also relevant for Russia,, since in two decades after the breakup of the Soviet Union it still is unable to form an efficient nation formation policy. Due to this fact the issue of formation of a general Russian identity becomes a topical goal for state and society.  The author chooses Russia and the USA for the study, and she makes a comparison.  The choice of these two states due to them being largest territorial states and having ethnical variety.  Also, both Russia and the USA face problems related to the inflow of migrants, and nation building crisis.  
Other our sites:
Official Website of NOTA BENE / Aurora Group s.r.o.
"History Illustrated" Website

Мировая политика
Меню журнала
> Архив номеров > Рубрики > О журнале > Авторы > Требования к статьям > Редсовет > Редакция > Рецензенты > Порядок рецензирования статей > Политика издания > Этические принципы > Правовая информация
Журналы индексируются
Реквизиты журнала

ГЛАВНАЯ > Журнал "Мировая политика" > Рубрика "Теория и методология международных отношений"
Теория и методология международных отношений
Владимирова А.В. - Страны Азии и Африки в Организации Объединенных Наций: Анализ использования мягкой силы c. 1-13

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8671.2016.3.19555

Аннотация: Теория «мягкой силы» востребована и популярна среди ученых и политиков, но природа этого феномена такова, что провести оценку мягкой силы с применением количественных методов достаточно сложно. В условиях нарастания уровня конфликтности в мире, соответствующих индексов, создаваемых консалтинговыми агентствами, оказывается недостаточно. Они несомненно важны, но основное внимание в них уделяется странам, которые имеют значительные ресурсы политической власти. Тем, видимо, они способствуют распространению ошибочного мнения, что государствам, не обладающим жесткой силой, недоступна и мягкая сила. В предлагаемой статье рассмотрены основные проблемы проведения эмпирического анализа мягкой силы и предложен подход, позволяющий с помощью линейной регрессии создать индекс ее использования в контексте Генеральной Ассамблеи Организации Объединенных Наций (ООН). Набор данных, собранный для построения статистической модели, содержит информацию по резолюциям 2001-2015 гг. и по 124 государствам-членам ООН, выступавшим их спонсорами. В результате проведенного анализа показано, что у стран Азии и Африки, которым еще только предстоит развиться в полноценные центры силы, есть возможность использовать нематериальные ресурсы при достижении своих целей в международных организациях.
Бородин Е.А. - Разумный подход к мировой политике c. 20-46

DOI:
10.7256/2306-4226.2015.1.12668

Аннотация: настоящая статья посвящена изучению роли разума в современных политических процессах, мировой политике и внешней политике наций-государств. В статье предпринята попытка уточнить базовые понятия, связанные с термином «разум», и показать, как именно воспринимается фактор разума участниками политических отношений и политического процесса. Установлено, что разум – структура довольно сложная, в политической и общественной деятельности человека он может проявляться на различных уровнях – индивидуальном, коллективном и распределенном. Появление сетевых структур организации современного общества порождает новые формы существования разума – сетевые, которые соответствующим образом сказываются на критериях разумности и в оценках разумности той или иной внешнеполитической стратегии или политического курса. В результате становится понятно, что, говоря о разумной политике, мы часто имеем в виду совершенно различные основания и критерии соответствия разумности. Более того, в различных культурах существуют свои представления о разуме и разумности политической деятельности, которые основываются на собственных традициях и ценностях. Вместе с тем, ноосферное учение В.И. Вернадского позволяет синтезировать различные представления о разуме и его роли в политике в единую парадигму, связующим раствором которой выступает современная идеология ноовитизма.
Шитова Е.Н. - «Демократии с прилагательными» в политологическом дискурсе: место Латинской Америки и Постсоветского пространства на теоретической карте мира c. 45-63

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8671.2015.2.12626

Аннотация: В настоящее время существует существенный разрыв между формальными демократическими институтами и культурными, историческими, ценностными традициями, утвердившимися в определенных странах/ социуме исторически. Явление демократий, соответствующим формальным, процедурным признакам, но вызывающих сомнение по поводу своей демократической сущности, породило и новые концепты для описания происходящих изменений, в совокупности называемые «демократии с прилагательными”. В настоящее время в дискурсе задействовано более 60 стран, наиболее развернутое обсуждение ведется на примере стран Латинской Америки. В статье использован системный, структурно-функциональный и сравнительно-политический подходы, методы индукции, дедукции, анализа, синтеза, наблюдения, моделирования и экспертных оценок. В данной статье объясняется концепт «демократии с прилагательными», показано, в каком проблемном поле существует данное понятие, описаны основные этапы его становления, обозначены проблемные области, которые затронуты дискурсом о демократии, показаны графически страны, которые данным дискурсом охвачены, и стратегии авторов коцептов.
Грачиков Е.Н. - Китайская школа международных отношений: право на методологическое самосознание c. 47-65

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8671.2017.1.21534

Аннотация: Предметом исследования данной статьи является генезис китайской школы теории международных отношений. Автор подробно рассматривает такие аспекты темы как глобальный контекст теоретических "школ" различных стран, в том числе незападного ареала, общее состояние и направления международных работ академического сообщества Китая. Особое внимание в статье уделяется трем дебатам (о специфике, теории и школе), через которые прошли китайские ученые, а также полемике о международном обществе между ведущими учеными Запада и Китая. Используя количественные и качественные методы, автор анализирует сложный процесс развития различных «подходов», как методологических, так и концептуальных, которые сейчас составляют понятие, но не единую «китайскую школу». Автор использует новейшие исследования китайских ученых, еще не введенные в российский академический контекст политических изысканий. В статье делается вывод, что китайские ученые, став неотъемлемой частью мировой академической среды, пока воспроизводят доминирование западных теорий международных отношений и даже свои «инновации» рассматривают через призму западных исследовательских парадигм.
Репьева А.М. - Нациестроительство. Формирование и сущностные характеристики (США и Россия). c. 68-79

DOI:
10.7256/2306-4226.2013.2.8795

Аннотация: Российское государство исторически на протяжении веков формировалось и складывалось как полиэтническое государство, поэтому проблема формирования единого гражданского самосознания была актуальна во все времена.Процесс формирование нации - явление довольно сложное и противоречивое, так как затрагивает национальную идентичность гражданина, вследствие которого государство сталкивается с проблемой выбора принципа формирования нации. Среди основных принципов можно выделить следующие: формирование нации на основе политики мультикультурализма, на основе гражданской нации, либо на базе доминирующего этноса страны, способного сплотить другие этносы вокруг себя.С проблемой формирования нации сталкивается большинство государств Европы и Америки, эта проблема затрагивает и Россию, которая за два десятилетия после распада СССР не может выработать эффективную политику по формированию нации. В этой связи стратегия формирования общероссийской идентичности становится актуальной задачей для государства и общества.В качестве исследуемых стран выбраны США и Россия, между которыми проведен сравнительный анализ. Выбор данных стран обусловлен тем, что обе они являются крупнейшими в мире в территориальном отношении, а также обладают этнической разнородностью. Наряду с этим, как Россия, так и США испытывают проблемы, связанные с притоком мигрантов, в обеих странах имеет место кризис нациестроительства. Российское государство исторически на протяжении веков формировалось и складывалось, как полиэтническое государство и поэтому проблема формирования единого гражданского самосознания была актуальна во все времена.
Другие сайты издательства:
Официальный сайт издательства NotaBene / Aurora Group s.r.o.
Сайт исторического журнала "History Illustrated"