Journal Menu
> Issues > Rubrics > About journal > Authors > Requirements for publication > Editorial collegium > Editorial board > List of peer reviewers > Review procedure > Policy of publication. Aims & Scope. > Article retraction > Ethics > Legal information > О журнале
Journals in science databases
About the Journal

MAIN PAGE > Journal "Litera" > Rubric "Historism"
Kulagina-Yartseva V.S. - Dora Ashton. Existentialism (Translation) pp. 45-55


Abstract: The author considers the history of the development of existentialism in America. The economic crisis of the thirtieth years developed into moral crisis of the fortieth, and "alienation of masses" under the influence of the psychology and economy of war developed into "alienation of the individual". Alienation becomes the keynote of the post-war decade. In art, the ideas broadly called existential began to prevail. Language of existentialists became part of the criticism in the late forties - early fiftieth. The big role in judgment of the artistic process was played by Sartre. During his long visit to the United States Sartre gave lectures at many American universities. In addition, Friedrich Nietzsche, with his prophetical tone and appeal to antiquity (Apollonian and Dionisian) also happened to be in tune with the feelings and creative urges of many artists belonging to New York School. The myth problem did not draw former attention of artists at the beginning of the fiftieth any more, and all traces of mythical hints disappeared from paintings. 
Tcvetov D.L. - The Geographic Destiny of the Besieged Leningrad Culture pp. 73-81


Abstract: The siege of Leningrad continues to be an actual topic for interdisciplinary research in various fields. From the point of view of cultural studies the blockade of Leningrad is a unique cultural phenomenon, the appearance of which induced a number of factors and primarily to the geographical destiny of St. Petersburg, the city that emerged in spite of the seemingly unfavorable natural and cultural environments. The author aims to determine the role of the influence of geographical coordinates of Leningrad in the process of metamorphosis of its culture in the blockade time, as well as clarify cultural and historical significance of the siege of the city for the course of the great Patriotic war. The author suggests to clarify the infuence of the geographical factor on the citizens' mind and culture of Leningrad through introducing the concept of 'geographical destiny'. This is the term used by Yury Lotman in his article 'Modern Times Between the East and the West'. Georgraphical coordinates of St. Petersburg that later became the grounds for the Russian intellectual and social discourse of a new cultural concept 'Window on Europe' as it was raised by Alexander Pushkin in his poem 'Bronze Horseman', all of the sudden became the reason of its transformation into a completely different 'open' semantic concept, 'blockaded' or 'besieged' Leningrad. The narrow piece of land that used to take the Russian culture to European strategic development model through the sea became the place where the Russian culture that had European values (at all levels of culture and as an 'ideal' city for Europe itself) faced the countercultural and antihuman foces. It was the place where the main battle of the Second World War took place and it was the battle between 'barbarity' and culture. The nature of the battle considerably defined the historical and geographical factor as well. 
Bochkina M.V. - The Disintegration of the Connection of Times in M. Shishkin's 'Letter Writing Guides', L. Ulitskaya 'Yakov's Stairs' and E. Vodolazkina's 'Aviator' Novels and How the Authors Overcame it pp. 87-93


Abstract: The present article is devoted to the attempt to analyze the disintegration of the connection of times and how modern authors overcame it in such novels as 'Yakov's Stairs' by L. Ulitskaya, 'Letter Writing Guides' by M. Shishkin and 'Aviator' by E. Vodolazkina. Shakespear's play The Tragical Historie of Hamlet, Prince of Denmarke is taken as the main motif of such disintegration. In this regard, Bochkina also analyzes the concept of time in the aforesaid literary works. According to the researcher, time does not structure the narration in a literary text but often becomes the matter of the writer's reflection. The research method used by Bochkina in her research is the comparison of texts and culture-historical approach. The theoretical basis of the research includes B. Uspensky's, A. Gurevich' and E. Vodolazkina's researches on philology. Thus, the researcher analyzes different interpretations of the problem in the aforesaid novels and deffines the mutual influence of the main Medieval and Post-Modernism concepts of time. The researcher underlines that even though these authors have a very different concept of time, they have a common idea about disintegration of time as they present it in their word choice and narrative structure. This idea is realized by writers through memoirs and letters written by novel characters. 
Kulagina-Yartseva V.S. - Culture and Teaching at Victorian London. Liza Picard pp. 163-227
Abstract: Liza Picard describes the process of preparation for the International Industrial Exposition in 1851. She also describes the openning and popularity of the Exposition with the Great Britain citizens as well as the role of the Exposition in the development of culture and industry. The author also raises questions about education, in particular, school education (so called 'ragged schools' as a great achievement of the Victorian age) and talks about different institutions, courses and available libraries. 
Krotovskaya N.G. - Piquard, L. Religious movements and burial rituals in Victorian London (translation) pp. 263-311


Abstract: During the Victorian epoch the former parochial structure of London, which required that the people obligatorily visited their parish, had vanished. For those, who wished to visit Anglican church service, England offerd confusing variety of such services, which were grouped around the so-called wide, high and low Churches, to which the followers of ritualism had later joined.  The regular visits to church were considered to show decency among middle class and upper class people, while the share of the lower class people in the parish was very small. The London cemeteries were overfilled after the Plague of 1665. From the mid-XIX century the private cemepteries started to open, and new fashionable burial tendencies appeared.
Other our sites:
Official Website of NOTA BENE / Aurora Group s.r.o.
"History Illustrated" Website

Litera
Меню журнала
> Архив номеров > Рубрики > О журнале > Авторы > Требования к статьям > Редакционный совет > Редакция > Рецензенты > Порядок рецензирования статей > Политика издания > Ретракция статей > Этические принципы > Правовая информация
Журналы индексируются
Реквизиты журнала

ГЛАВНАЯ > Журнал "Litera" > Рубрика "Историзм"
Историзм
Кулагина-Ярцева В.С. - Дора Эштон. Экзистенциализм (перевод) c. 45-55

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8698.2016.2.19044

Аннотация: Автор рассматривает историю развития экзистенциализма в Америке. Экономический кризис тридцатых годов перерос в нравственный кризис сороковых, а "отчуждение масс" под воздействием психологии и экономики войны переросло в "отчуждение индивида".Отчуждение становится лейтмотивом послевоенного десятилетия. В искусстве стали преобладать идеи, которые в широком смысле можно было назвать экзистенциальными. Язык экзистенциалистов начал входитьв художественную критику в конце сороковых - начале пятидесятых. Большую роль в осмыслении художественного процесса сыграл Сартр. Во время своего продолжительного визита в Соединенные Штаты он выступал с лекциями во многих американских университетах. Кроме того, созвучен чувствам и творческим стремлениям многих художников нью-йоркской школы того времени оказался Фридрих Ницше с его пророческим тоном и обращением к античности (аполлоническое и дионисийское). К началу пятидесятых проблема мифа уже не привлекала прежнего внимания художников, и из картин исчезли все следы мифических аллюзий
Цветов Д.Л. - «Географическая судьба» культуры Ленинграда в годы блокады c. 73-81

DOI:
10.7256/2409-8698.2016.4.20494

Аннотация: Блокада Ленинграда продолжает оставаться актуальной темой для междисциплинарных научных исследований. С точки зрения культурологии блокада Ленинграда является культурным феноменом военного времени, появление которого вызвано определенным рядом факторов и в первую очередь географической судьбой города возникшего вопреки неблагоприятным для того природным и культурным условиям. Автор статьи ставит перед собой цель определить особенности влияния географических координат Ленинграда на процесс метаморфоз в его культуре военного времени, а также прояснить культурно-историческое значение осады города для хода Великой Отечественной войны. Прояснить особенности влияния географического фактора на сознание горожан и культуру блокадного Ленинграда, автор статьи предлагает через введение в исследование термина «географическая судьба». Эту дефиницию, на страницах статьи «Современность между Востоком и Западом», использовал Ю. М. Лотман. Географические координаты местонахождения Петербурга, служившие впоследствии основой появления в российском интеллектуальном и общественном дискурсе «открытой» в своей семантике культурологемы, — «Окно в Европу», сформулированной А. Пушкиным в поэме «Медный всадник», внезапно явились причиной её трансформации в совершенно иную, «закрытую», семантически противоположную формулировку — «блокадный (блокированный) Ленинград». Узкий промежуток суши, «выводивший» русскую культуру по географическому, морскому пути к европейски ценностно-ориентированной стратегической модели развития, стал местом, где русская культура, воплотившая в себе ценности этой модели (на всех уровнях культурной предметности, в виде культурной системы «идеального» городского типа, идеального и для самой Европы), столкнулась с контркультурной и антигуманистической силой. Это было место, на котором происходила одна из главных битв Второй мировой войны — битва «варварства» и культуры. Характер этой битвы в значительной мере определил историко-географический фактор.
Кулагина-Ярцева В.С. - Культура и просвещение в Викторианском Лондоне. Лайза Пикард c. 163-227
Аннотация: В статье рассматривается подготовка к Всемирной промышленной выставке 1851 г., описывается ее открытие, популярность выставки у жителей Великобритании, роль, которую она сыграла в развитии культуры и промышленности страны. В статье также подняты вопросы образования, в частности школьного ("школы для бедных" -- величайшее достижение викторианской эпохи), рассказывается о различных институтах, курсах, о доступных библиотеках.
Кротовская Н.Г. - Л. Пикард. Религиозные течения и похоронные ритуалы в викторианском Лондоне (перевод) c. 263-311

DOI:
10.7256/2306-1596.2013.1.138

Аннотация: В викторианскую эпоху прежняя приходская организация Лондона, когда люди в обязательном порядке посещали свой церковный приход, исчезла. Для тех, кто решил посетить англиканскую службу, Церковь Англии предлагала смущающее разнообразие богослужений, свободно группирующихся вокруг так называемых широкой, высокой и низкой церквей, к которым позже присоединились приверженцы обрядности. Как у среднего, так и у высшего класса регулярное посещение церкви считалось одним из признаков благопристойности, тогда как доля представителей низших классов в приходе была ничтожно мала.Лондонские погосты уже давно, после чумы 1665 года, были переполнены. Начиная с середины Х1Х века стали открываться частные кладбища и появились новые модные тенденции захоронения.
Другие сайты издательства:
Официальный сайт издательства NotaBene / Aurora Group s.r.o.
Сайт исторического журнала "History Illustrated"