Genesis: Historical research
12+
Journal Menu
> Issues > Rubrics > About journal > Authors > About the Journal > Requirements for publication > Editorial collegium > The editors and editorial board > Peer-review process > Policy of publication. Aims & Scope. > Article retraction > Ethics > Online First Pre-Publication > Copyright & Licensing Policy > Digital archiving policy > Open Access Policy > Open access publishing costs > Article Identification Policy > Plagiarism check policy
Journals in science databases
About the Journal

MAIN PAGE > Back to contents
Publications of Kosov Ivan Mikhailovich
Man and Culture, 2017-3
Kosov I.M. - Receptions of ancient culture in works of Giraldus Cambrensis pp. 43-53

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8744.2017.3.20183

Abstract: The subject of this research is the manuscript “Topography of Ireland” and “Conquest of Ireland”. The object of the body of text of the artefacts “Topographia Hiberniae", "Expugnatio Hiberniae", "Gemma Ecclesiastica", and "De rebus a se gestis" by Giraldus Cambrensis. The author examines such rhetorical aspects of the medieval clerk, as the character and ways of citing classical authors. Special attention is given to the elements of scholastic written narrative. The article sets a goal to determine the correlation between its written and verbal part in works of the Welsh monk, and its impact upon the interrelation of fragments of the digest of the late XII century in the code of the early XIII century (National Library of Ireland MS 600 Giraldus Cambrensis). Among the main conclusion of the conducted research are the following reasoning: 1) “Topography of Ireland” and “Conquest of Ireland” represent the elements of a single body of texts, part of the manuscript digest of the late XII century; 2) At the end of the XII century, Norman administration in the territory of Ireland engaged the local irregular unions for the joint warfare. Authors main contribution lies in collation of the materials of the Norman and Irish chronicles. The scientific novelty consists in the complex approach towards the manuscript and intellectual heritage of Giraldus Cambrensis as a historical source.
History magazine - researches, 2016-2
Kosov I.M. - The Connotative Semiology of the Ancient Topoi and of the Celtic Reminiscences in the Topographia Hiberniae by Giraldus Cambrensis

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0609.2016.2.17551

Abstract: The subject of this article is the Ancient periphrastic geography tradition, starting from Homer and others to Giraldus Cambrensis, who viewed Ireland's Celtic archaism and mythology inseparably from its physical boundaries through the lens of local histories and legends. The author of this study attempted to track the changes in Ancient descriptive geography as perceived in that genre by Strabo and other classics of the genre. The focus of this study is the reception mechanisms of the Ancient scientific geography paradigm by a cleric of Cambridge-Norman origin at the end of the 12th century. The study's main research methodology is source criticism. This includes the use of the textological tools from the approach of Microhistory and History of Ideas. The aim of the article is to reconstruct the Welsh monk's "living world" during the High Middle Ages in order to identify how and for what purpose he used the legacy of the Ancient world both phenomenologically and epistemologically. The main conclusions of the conducted study are the author's following two deductions: 1) the genre of periphrastic geography had not been preserved in its pure form towards the end of the 12th century; 2) the objective of the author of the “Topographia Hiberniae" was exclusively utilitarian and self-interested (the treatise represents a transitional form of historical sources between political pamphlet, bestiary, geographic treatise and chronicle, annals): in order to legalise the presence of the Anglo-Norman army in the Northern part of Ireland. The author's main scientific contribution is his successful application of the methods from the approach of History of Ideas on the material from Medieval Ireland and South-Eastern Wales. The work's novelty lies in the little-used treatise's introduction into the scientific use of the Russian historiographical community.
Other our sites:
Official Website of NOTA BENE / Aurora Group s.r.o.
"History Illustrated" Website

по
Genesis: исторические исследования
12+
Меню журнала
> Архив номеров > Рубрики > О журнале > Авторы > О журнале > Требования к статьям > Редакционный совет > Редакция и редакционная коллегия > Порядок рецензирования статей > Политика издания > Ретракция статей > Этические принципы > Политика открытого доступа > Оплата за публикации в открытом доступе > Online First Pre-Publication > Политика авторских прав и лицензий > Политика цифрового хранения публикации > Политика идентификации статей > Политика проверки на плагиат
Журналы индексируются
Реквизиты журнала

ГЛАВНАЯ > Вернуться к содержанию
Статьи автора Косов Иван Михайлович
Человек и культура, 2017-3
Косов И.М. - Рецепции античной культуры у Гиральда Камбрийского c. 43-53

DOI:
10.25136/2409-8744.2017.3.20183

Аннотация: Предметом исследования является рукопись "Топографии Ирландии" и "Завоевания Ирландии". Объектом исследования является массив текста памятников "Topographia Hiberniae", "Expugnatio Hiberniae", "Gemma Ecclesiastica" и "De rebus a se gestis" Гиральда Камбрийского. Автор подробно рассматривает такие аспекты риторики средневекового клирика, как характер и способы цитирования классических авторов. Особое внимание уделяется элементам схоластической письменной наррации. Ставится задача выяснить, как сопрягались между собой её письменная и устная часть у этого валлийского монаха, и как это влияло на взаимоотношение фрагментов свода конца XII в. в кодексе начала XIII в. NLI MS 700 Giraldus. Основной метод исследования - стемматологический. Кроме того, задействована область интертекстуального инструментария в генеалогии античных и позднеантичных текстов. Автор привлекает спектр методик кодикологии и палеографии. Основными выводами проведённого исследования являются два умозаключения:1) "Топография Ирландии" и "Завоевание Ирландии" - элементы единого корпуса текстов, части рукописного свода конца XII в.;2) Норманнская администрация на территории Ирландии в последней четверти XII в. привлекала для совместных боевых действий локальные иррегулярные соединения.Особым вкладом автора в исследование темы является сличение материалов норманнских и ирландских хроник. Новизна исследования заключается в комплексном подходе к рукописному и интеллектуальному наследию Гиральда Камбрийского, как к историческому источнику.
Исторический журнал: научные исследования, 2016-2
Косов И.М. - Коннотативная семиология античных топосов и кельтских реминисценций в «Описании Ирландии» Гиральда Кембрийского

DOI:
10.7256/2454-0609.2016.2.17551

Аннотация: Предметом исследования является древняя перифрастичная географическая традиция, исходящяя от Гомера и иных к Гиральду Кембрийскому, воспринявшему кельтскую архаику и мифологию Ирландии неотделимо от её физических параметров сквозь призму местных хроник и сказаний. Автор данного исследования попытался выяснить, во что превратилась античная описательная география в том жанре, в котором ее представляли себе Страбон и другие классики этого стиля. Объектом исследования стал механизм рецепции античной научной географической парадигмы в конце XII столетия клириком камбро-норманнского происхождения. Методология исследования - в целом - источниковедческая. В частности - использованы текстологический инструментарий микроистории и истории идей. Сущность его заключается в реконструкции "жизненного мира" валлийского монаха эпохи Высокого Средневековья с тем, чтобы выяснить, как феноменологически и эпистемологически он использует наследие античного мира, и в каких целях. Основными выводами проведенного исследования являются два умозаключения, к которым пришёл автор: 1) чистого жанра перифрастической географии к концу XII века не сохранилось; 2) целями создателя "Топографии Ирландии" были исключительно утилитарные и корыстные (трактат представлял собой промежуточный вид исторического источника между политическим памфлетом, бестиарием, географическим трактатом и хроникой, анналами): легализовать присутствие англо-норманнских войск на севере Ирландии. Главный научный вклад автора - успешная опробация методов истории идей на материале средневековой Ирландии и юго-востока Уэльса. Новизной научного исследования также является задейстование мало вовлечённого в научный оборот отечественной исторической науки трактата.
Другие сайты издательства:
Официальный сайт издательства NotaBene / Aurora Group s.r.o.
Сайт исторического журнала "History Illustrated"